November Artist of the Month: Anthony Meister

November Artist of the Month: Anthony Meister

11/30/18

by Melaina Files

Art is such an incredible skill for humankind to obtain.  The various ways in which humans can create art is miraculous.  From paintings, to sculptures, and even various forms of dance, art is constantly surrounding our society.  Life would be boring without this expression of imagination.

Anthony Meister is a junior at FHS this year.  He is a part of an Air Force family who has traveled across the world.  Anthony was born in Japan, and has since lived in Guam, Hawaii, and Farmington (respectively).  This is his fifth year in Farmington. I had the opportunity to ask Anthony about his amazing artwork.  He is truly a natural artist, with quite the talent. I most certainly could not produce what he does, it is inspiring!  

Who are your biggest influences?

My biggest influences are Sr. Master Sgt. Heflin, my dad, George W. Patin, and Bob Ross of course.

What are your interests/hobbies?

I enjoy building tanks, computers, collecting antique items, and painting.  I also enjoy being a part of the ROTC program at FHS.

Have you always been talented at art, or did it take a lot of practice?

The form of art I learned the quickest was painting.  Painting on a canvas is such a different feeling. I have watched 144 episodes of Bob Ross, and that has helped me as well.  

What is your favorite piece you have made, and why?

My proudest achievement is definitely my ryefield model panther ausf. G full interior.  This is basically a model tank with 1,589 parts. It took me about 3 weeks, 57 working hours, to complete.  

What type of artwork do you enjoy producing the most?

I like painting, because it is the cheapest artwork to produce, but I also love modeling.  You can go much further with the 3-dimensional war. Dioramas are also fun to create, they have more character than paintings.  Unfortunately, dioramas are more expensive than painting.

Where do you see yourself in the future, what do you hope to be doing after high school?

After finishing my computer project, I want to be a pilot in the air force.  A “painting pilot” perhaps. Bob Ross did the same thing, traveled the world and painted from the sky.  

What is the best piece of advice you have been given?

When Bob Ross was laying out a black canvas, he looked at the camera and said, “You need all this black to show the light, there is going to be some darkness in the world, it can also be just as bright.”  This helps me balance some stuff, I have seen some evil in the world. I know as long as there is evil in the world, there is good out there too.

What wouldn’t you do without?

I couldn’t do without my coat, it keeps me warm, and I am someone who is always cold.  Also, as far as people go, Sgt. Heflin has pulled me through some tough times. I wouldn’t be who I am without him.  

Describe how your artwork makes you feel, if anything at all.

Enjoyable, because not many little things can bother me while I am creating artwork.  It is what I am making, not anyone else.

After interviewing Anthony, my perspective on art had changed.  I often find myself stereotyping artists to be shy individuals who doodle and paint.  Not only is Anthony doing these things, but he is also creating incredible tank models over the course of several tedious hours.  Anthony is such an interesting individual, as his form of art is truly unique. He is not creating because he feels obligated to, he truly loves what he is doing! That is my favorite thing about him as an artist.  I can’t wait to see what his future holds in terms of creating. Especially with such an interesting career choice! Anthony also informed me he has a YouTube channel, so if you are interested, subscribe to: Meis Magiic

, ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar